Garden of Wisdom (Part II)

3 Dec

I am finally done with trying out all of the GoW products that arrived at my place early October this year.

Read Part I HERE.

I am just going to do a really really quick reviews on all these because the products did not leave a good impression with  me.  Maybe it is due to all the raving good reviews that GoW has gotten over the internet & that led my expectations to be way way up.  Then when I really tried the products, I find that it was just so-so & so I have got nothing much to say.  INSTEAD, I think I shall just tell you what I did with them in the end.

=/

1)      Oats, Milk & Honey Cleanser
2)      Almond Milk & Papaya Enzyme Cleanser
3)      Jen’s Green Tea & Shea Butter Cleanser

I did not like any of the cleansers.  =(  I was a little super disappointed.  They all left this waxy feeling on my face.  The Oats, Milk & Honey Cleanser left the most wax & it clogged my pores & made me broke out in tiny pus-like zits.  UGH.

In the end, my bf helped me to finish the cleansers & he did not like it as well.  He said the Jen’s Green Tea & Shea Butter Cleanser smelt the worst, like there was an overwhelming scent of gum.

4)      Clarifying Toner

This is mediocre for me.  Smells like vinegar.  It stung my face a little when my mouth area was flaky.  In the end, I mixed a little of this toner up in my rhassoul clay + Avene Thermal Water to use as a face mask.

I did not feel any great love for this toner.

5)      Strawberry Hydrating Mist
6)      Honey Hydrating Mist
7)      Promegranate Hydrating Mist

Nothing fantastic on the hydrating mists either.  They smelt really really great, but I didn’t like the slightly sticky feeling it left on my face.  Maybe the stickiness was supposed to be some sort of hydrating film, but… it just made my face feels uncomfy!!!

Am I being too picky?????  But but but, that sticky feeling on my face… … it made me feel like my face wasn’t clean.  I don’t know what is wrong!

I REALLY TRIED TO LIKE THE PRODUCTS!!!  I REALLY TRIED MY BEST!!!!  I REALLY DID GIVE SOME TIME FOR MYSELF TO ADJUST TO THE NEW PRODUCTS!!!!  I… I… DON’T KNOW WHY EVEN THE HYDRATING MISTS WERE NOT WORKING FOR ME… … I… I…

GOMENASAI!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Anyway, I ended up using them to mix into my rhassoul clay mask as well.  I swear that clay can solve all my problems without me seeing any unused products go to waste.  It’s like, “oh this does not feel good on my face“… *mix with rhassoul clay*… “oh this is too rich & breaks me out in zits“… *mix with rhassoul clay*…

And when I mix them with rhassoul clay, it works fine.  SO SO STRANGE.

8)      Mandelic Acid 5% without alcohol & without seaweed

This is supposed to refine my pores & complexion, but it does not seem to do anything great after 1 month so now it is lying alone in my cupboard.  This is probably the only thing I cannot mix with rhassoul clay, so if anyone is interested, I can give this away for free, just drop me an email.  I paid US$6.25 for this.  Click HERE if you need more product information on this Mandelic Acid.

9)      Concord Grape Serum
10)    Camelia Oil
11)    Argan Oil
12)    Emu Butter

I usually mix 2 drops of oil/butter on my palm + 1 drop of that serum.  But somehow my face doesn’t like it & it gave me clogged pores + blackheads, so I have ended up using this as a body moisturizer AND MY BODY LOVES IT.

For my body, I mix 5 or 6 drops of oil/butter on my palm + 2 drops of serum to rub on each portion of my legs or arms or tummy or butt and my skin drinks it all up nicely & keeps my body soft under the cold harsh air-conditioning at work.

The Camelia Oil feels the lightest & absorbs quickly.  The Argan Oil is a little more moisturizing.  And the Emu Butter is just plain weird & is my least favourite.  I’ve seen Emu Oil before & it is a translucent slightly yellow color, but this Emu Butter is white.  And its texture feels more like Hazeline Snow rather than butter.

I remember my mother used to put Hazeline Snow in the fridge & it is so cooling when you apply it on your face.  But I would think that Emu Butter should be more like… … shea butter + emu oil???  I dunno.  Maybe it’s just my own thinking, but it will be great if the Emu Butter is in that combination, right?

13)    Minty Fruity Meow Meow Facial Lotion

This lotion is okay, but maybe a little too light for me because I have really really dry flaky skin around the U-zone.  So if you are not allergic to mint & you’re interested to try this out, I can give it out for free.  I paid US$5.90 for this.  Click HERE to view more information on this facial lotion.

14)    Put Da Lime in Da Coconut Cream After Bath Conditioner

FINALLY, we have come to the one & only GoW product that I absolutely LOVE!!!  Initially, I felt that I was more of a body-lotion kind of person, you know like… Cream vs Oil, I would prefer cream.  I did not like rubbing myself with the body oil after my shower.  But I have to say that I grew to love it.  It moisturizes my whole entire body without giving me clogged pores & the fine lines on my legs have become so so so so so minimal.  It also absorbs quickly, so I do not have to remain in a standing position for a long time.  haha…

As I’m a person who is very attracted to pleasant scents, this bath oil probably gained  more mental points with me.  When I read that there is lime + coconut in this after-bath oil, I was feeling really doubtful because I never liked the smell of coconuts.  But it turned out to be DELICIOUS!!!  It smells like I’m in the tropics & I can almost hear the hawaiian music play at the back of my head.


CAN YOU SMELL THE HAWAII ON ME?!?!?!?!
*sniffs her own pits*

 

I never knew it could smell so HEAVENLY!!!!  (referring to the lime + coconut scent, not her pits).

To sum it all up, will I buy GoW finished products again???  Err… no.

But will I buy their raw ingredients (eg: shea butter / essential oils / carrier oils)???  Maybe, if I cannot find any cheaper source in Singapore.

Why are there so many raving reviews over the internet for GoW???  Well, I guess it works on *ang moh (caucasian) skin better?  Maybe my face cannot take too many products at the same time???  I don’t know the answer for sure.  But I will keep trying to find my HG (Holy Grail) of skincare one day.

Peace & have a good weekend.

4 Responses to “Garden of Wisdom (Part II)”

  1. sesame 7 December 2010 at 8:50 AM #

    I used to purchase only the raw materials from GOW but recently, bought one neck serum. Hmm…smells quite awful but not sure of results. Will give it some time before I review it.

    • Berry Mii 7 December 2010 at 10:54 AM #

      Sesame… omg, I kw everything about the bad smell (esp that green tea cleanser). At first I thot that it has gone bad during the transit from GoW to my house, but my bf didn’t grow any fungus on his face, so I guess it’s still safe. haha!
      I’ll be waiting to read about the neck serum review from you! Very curious to know if the GoW products actually work.

  2. Serena 7 December 2010 at 2:51 PM #

    hi, i’m interested in the Minty Fruity Meow Meow Facial Lotion, are you really giving it for free?

    • Berry Mii 8 December 2010 at 10:16 AM #

      Hi Serena: sorry! i have already received an email from a reader right after that blog was posted, so it’s reserved for her. If she doesn’t pick it up by next week, I’ll let you know. =)

Leave a Reply

