What’s up with Fluoride?

25 Oct

Long time ago when I was still having teenage acne, my school organized some Dental Day on a Saturday.  There were dentists who stationed themselves at our Science Lab to see individual students & clean those dirty teeth.  After that, they would give out a free toothpaste to the student who bravely endured the trauma of having their teeth dug & prodded by the dentist.

I was waiting in line when I heard one of the parents rejecting the toothpaste from the dentist & said, “oh no thanks… fluoride is so bad for us“.

I was mildly curious, yes.  But at that young age, I did not know that I can find my answers on Yahoo, so I never thought much about it until recently, when I was looking thru websites on natural/organic skincare & one thing that kept popping up was Fluoride-Free toothpaste.

That was what made me recall that one such parent had rejected a free toothpaste before.

Hence, now that I am older with an increased sense of curiosity, a series of questions flashed across my head.

Why must there be a fluoride-free toothpaste?

I thought fluoride is supposed to be good, but then why would anyone create a toothpaste without it?

Is it because of an allergy?  Or is it something more?

So I decided to do a little research & asked Google why is fluoride bad for our teeth.  I found this interesting web article HERE & I summarized below.

A little history on Fluoride
It stated that before fluoride was added into our toothpaste, it was used as an insecticide & rat poison.  It is actually a pollutant – a by-product of copper, iron and aluminum manufacturing.

When faced with the problem of legally disposing fluoride back in the 1930s, a large aluminum company funded a study that concluded that fluoride can prevent tooth decay.  And so, it was added into our water supplies.

Research conducted on the benefits of Fluoride
Over extensive research conducted on fluoridation & oral health in the mid 80s till present time, it shows that there is no difference in tooth decay rates between the fluoridated and non-fluoridated cities.

And the clear reason why there are lesser & lesser tooth decay cases is simply because we are educated on better oral hygiene & the decrease is not because of the use of fluoride.

Some countries have even stopped adding fluoride into their water systems.

The harmful effects of Fluoride
So, exactly how is Fluoride bad?

It actually weakens our teeth & causes discoloration.

Fluoride can also increase the absorption of aluminum in the brain & this substance can be found in most Alzheimer’s patients.  Not to mention, that it has also been associated with hip fractures, damage the musculoskeletal and nervous systems, leading to limited joint mobility, ligament calcification, muscular degeneration and neurological deficits.

Also, as extracted directly from the web article, “a number of different studies have linked fluoride to as many as 10,000 cancer deaths per year, with a high incidence of bone cancer among men exposed to fluoridated water“.

What?!

You can read the full article if you’re interested as per the link I have provided above.

But if you are not yet convinced, here are a few more websites that I found that will scare the living daylights out of you while you wonder what you have been consuming all these while!

Read more HEREHERE & HERE.

Here is what Dental Fluorosis looks like.  Click HERE.

I know some of these web articles are lengthy, but when it comes to your health & your children’s health, don’t you want to be aware of the potential hazards?

In the meantime, I also found out that these 2 brands – Weleda & Green People (hoover your cursor over the words to click on the links) – have pretty good safe toothpastes for the whole family.

Now, the question is, where to get them at an affordable price.

2 Responses to “What’s up with Fluoride?”

  1. Trixie Diddle 26 October 2010 at 4:24 PM #

    oh my my, i was checking out where to get the best deals for toothpastes & i found your blog! i knew fluoride was bad, but never knew it was this bad. i am so going to be more conscious now. isn’t it strange why all these chemicals are being added into our products? no wonder there are things like deformities & cancer going around. nice post, i will be visiting!

    • Berry Mii 27 October 2010 at 11:14 AM #

      Hi Trixie, thanks for visiting! =) I am sure glad my blog served its purpose in creating awareness. We should all be cautious when it comes to our bodies & health. =)

Leave a Reply

