The Spooky Shade of Pale

22 Oct

I have not been posting up any reviews on products the past couple of days.  I am not lazy, but maybe just a tinge of procrastination.

I am working on a post on 100% Pure.  Besides Bud Cosmetics, I found another local seller for this brand & have been granted access to the office to snap a few shots of their fruit-pigmented cosmetics.  =D  The post should be up by next week.  And also a little something special where it can be potentially kinky.  hahaha…

It is totally irrelevant to the title of this post though.

The topic I want to touch on today is about all things that spook us out at night.  Things that turn us to a shade of pale.  I had blogged a little about spooky encounters in my previous post HERE.  Now, this is like… part II.

*cues Twilight soundtrack*

One night, we were watching a rerun of this Japanese ghost film on TV & it got us into the topic of ghosts.  Then me & Gigi thought it would be funny to take photos of ourselves & photoshop it to look like spirits.  So I acted out as a long-haired ghost & then we photoshopped the photo to make it look more haunting.

In the end?

Not funny at all.

On that very night, I dreamt that I woke up from my sleep & I was in my bedroom.  Then right outside my door, there was this lady dressed in a red chinese dress, staring at me.

*shudders*

Her feet were dangling about a few inches off the ground, but her neck would tilt to the side like she was hung from a rope on the ceiling.  And she would swing left & right… left & right… left & right… while staring straight at me.  My whole body felt frozen.  With fear.

*screams hysterically in my head*

I think it was a good 10 secs of her swinging in the air until I woke up from the dream feeling darn relieved that it was nothing but a dream.

But then, I had the same exact dream for the following few nights.  She would always stare at me.  And I get the feeling that she wanted to come into the room.  *deep breathes*… I felt so odd about this whole situation that I told my family about it & you know what my Daddy said?

He said nonchalently, “oh maybe it’s because you kept pretending to be a ghost & a real ghost passed by & thought that you are her friend“… LOL!!!  OMG DADDY?!?!?!  Ok, it was freaky yet funny at the same time.

Mummy looked worried & said that maybe I accidentally ‘attracted’ spirits when I photoshopped all those creepy photos of myself… or maybe they felt that I was making fun of them.  So, she told me to “better delete all those photos“.

WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I SWEAR IT WAS JUST OUT OF MISCHIEF!!!!!

Gigi was so freaked out that she screamed, “SHITTTTTTTTTTT!!!!  AND I’M SLEEPING IN THE SAME ROOM AS *JIE JIE (*big sister)!!!!! MAYBE SHE’S (the lady ghost) ALSO LOOKING FOR ME, HOW?!?!?!?!”  And immediately turned on the PC & deleted everything.

I did not dream about that hanged lady after that.

Strange.  Was it psychological?  Or something more?

There was another time when a group of friends were staying over at this guy’s house for the night.  Let’s call him El.

That night, I dreamt that I was in the same room in my friend’s house & sleeping on the same bed beside the same friends around me.  I looked up & saw an old granny in front of me.  She had uncombed white hair, a long skinny face & was wearing this purple polka-dot matching outfit.  As I looked at her face, I saw that she did not have eyes.  They were just sockets.

She then leaned over to touch me & I jerked myself up from the dream.

At first, I laid there feeling a little confused.  Then wondered what the hell happened.  And finally my nerves got the better of me & I turned around to poke the nearest friend to me, attempting to wake her up.

She stirred & mumbled “dun disturb“.

So I turned to the other side & shook the other friend.  He moved a little & before he can tell me “dun disturb“, I blurted out “wake up I’m very scared“.  And you know what this kind friend did?  He opened his eyes briefly & told me to tell him tomorrow morning.  (-_-)  Thanks, ah.

The next morning, that kind friend asked me what happened last night.  So I told him about the old granny.  Everyone was spooked.  But the real scare came when El asked me if the old granny looked like his father & what she was wearing.

I said “no, your father’s face is so square.  The granny’s face is long & skinny”.  And I told him about the purple polka-dot outfit.

El then told us that he always hear strange noises in the house.  Like furniture moving or a glass being moved right in front of his eyes or the radio would blast on its own.  Then he said that the old granny I dreamt of sounded like his father’s mother – long skinny face.  And the outfit also sounded like what she was buried in.

(O_O)

The first thought that came to my head was… … … … …

“YOUR HOUSE IS HAUNTED & YOU STILL ASKED US TO STAY OVER?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!”

 

So, if you are staying in Woodlands near the Republic Polytechnic, you might be neighbours with the purple polka-dot granny.

Why am I blogging about encounters with the 3rd kind?

I had a dream last night that stirred up some of these memories for me.

I was about to drift off to sleep when I was woken up by a soft female voice under my bed going, “help… help me…. help“.  I opened my eyes & waited to see if I heard anything again.  Thankfully, none.

Not that I am superstitious or anything.  But I do wonder if there is life outside of the world we know.  Was I really dreaming & everything was just a psychological effect?  Or do spirits try to reach out to us humans?

Until today, I still remain a skeptic on these kind of stuff.  Despite the fact that I have encountered creepy coincidences, or the few times when young Buggy walked toward the car & suddenly swerved around to stare into blank spaces then told me he thought he saw someone’s reflection in the car window.

And that one time when I sat in a homemade swing at home & mentally saw a figure standing behind me.  That gave me enough goosebumps to immediately jumped off that swing & sit with my family in the living room.  Then Gigi got out of the shower & sat in that same swing & she jumped off, saying “eeeee i feel like someone is watching me from behind“.  Really?  Shit.  Me too.

I was previously working in the entertainment service industry & closing hours were always late into the night.  During my time there, several of my male staffs would repeatedly mention that they would hear a strange creaking sound in the male restroom at the far end of the cubicle.

I kept brushing them off, thinking to myself that they were just trying to scare me because I was always the last person in the building to lock up & leave.

Until one of my good friend told me that he wanted a part-time job to pass his time & started to work for my team.

One closing night when I was on duty, he came in & told me about the same creaking sound.  This time, I decided to go & check it out.  Cannot be that my own good friend would gang up with the rest & scare me, right?

As it was already closing time, I grabbed a torchlight & walked into the empty restroom.

I got down on my knees to look underneath all the cubicle stalls.  Then I inched my way towards the far end of the cubicle & there it was.  A slow loud creaking sound.

I pondered if I should just forget it & return back to my office, but the curious cat in me wondered what that sound was.  Would curiousity kill the cat?

Honestly, I half-expected a hand to reach out & grab me or see something ghostly, resulting in:

a)  peeing in my own pants

b)  fainting

c)  die from shock

d)  screaming out of the restroom like a banshee

e)  running frantically towards the main door but hit a wall instead & die from concussion instead of fright

f)  all of the above

But I had to find out.

And my good friend, being very kind, also did not follow me to the restroom & stayed behind in the office.  Why do I have so many kind friends?  I dunno.

After standing at the end of the restroom for a couple of minutes, I heard the sound again!  It was right on top of me!!!  It was freaking just next to my ear!!!  My eyes slowly… slowly… slowly looked up towards the ceiling.

And I saw…………………….

… the automatic air freshener that squirts out bouts of fragrances every few minutes.

(-_-“)

okay.

The mystery was solved.

I returned to the office as the hero who saved the day.  Every one of the boys looked embarrassed.  And of course, I did not tell them that I almost went into epileptic shock.

So is this all in my head?  Do ghosts exist?

That’s what I want to know, but do not want to find out.

Have you encountered similar situations?

Are there are ghosts living among us?

Tell me your creepy story.

2 Responses to “The Spooky Shade of Pale”

  1. Happy Gong 22 October 2010 at 9:19 PM #

    omg the lady in the red dress story is scary! i have a thing about mirrors. each time my back faces a mirror, i get this feeling that something is going to grab me from behind!!!!!! sometimes i see shadows darting at the corner of my eyes & i feel like i am not alone! tat is so scary!

    • Berry Mii 23 October 2010 at 9:58 AM #

      God I hate mirrors too… I get this feeling that my reflection is looking at me while I wash my face. (O_O)

Leave a Reply

