Baviphat: Mango Magic Brightening Mask

10 Oct

Updated on 13 Oct 2010:  Just posted a review on Baviphat Peach All-in-One Peeling Gel HERE.

Remember I did a review on the Baviphat Apple AC Therapy Sleeping Mask HERE???  I quite like the Apple Mask because it did loosen some dead skin, but my #1 dead skin remover is still the Bioessence gel which I had also reviewed HERE.

I still have a post on the Baviphat Peach All-In-One Peeling Gel coming up in a few days time, so keep a lookout for it if you’re interested.

I was given some samples on this Mango Magic mask from the Baviphat outlet in KL & had tested it a while ago.

Ain’t the packaging cuteeeeeeeeeeeeee???

(^_^) <– makes me wanna show an act cute face now…

Why can’t Singapore outlets give out generous samples as well?!?!?!?!

I super love samples because it lets me test out the products  before deciding if I should commit to a full-size one.

Anywayz, the saleslady gave me like 4 sachets of the Mango Magic mask & somehow I managed to make it last for a whole month!!!  hahahaha…. … maybe it is because I have a small face & the contents in 1 sample sachet was quite generous.  ;-P

I used the 4 sachets of mask 2 times a week for a continuous period of 4 weeks.  So 1 sachet is good for 2 times usage.

As everything is written in Korean (so what else is new), I did a little research on the internet on what this product does.

A little background that I found over the internet from various sources is that Baviphat is a Korean cosmetic brand that is endorsed by Beyonce and FT Island.  The brand uses natural ingredients like fruits and fermented organic grains.

But of course, if you have read my previous blog posts on natural / organic skincare, I have emphasized that although the product states that it ‘contains natural or organic ingredients‘, it does NOT mean that the whole entire product is chemical-free.  Must look closely at the FULL ingredient list.  But then again, I read over the internet that there are some companies that do not state the full ingredients on their products, so we consumers are never safe.  =\

This Mango Magic Brightening Mask itself is supposed to reveal brighter & crystal-clear skin.  It does this by removing any dirt & grime in our pores with microscopic (sounds so high-tech) oxygen bubbles.  The mango extract in this product is said to eliminate dirt.

Instructions for usage is to apply evenly on face & wait till 2-3 minutes until oxygen bubbles form, then rinse thoroughly with warm water .  Also, to avoid eyes & mouth areas.

Digress a bit – to avoid applying products around the eyes, I can understand.  Maybe if the product gets into the eyes, you might go blind.  Just kidding (or maybe not).  Maybe you will feel irritation or pain like chilli in eyes.

But why must avoid mouth area?  Is it because we might accidentally eat it or is the reason tied to something more… medical??  For example, the mouth area tends to be more sensitive & applying any product there will cause a skin reaction or something?  hmmmm…

Back to Mango Magic.

The mask is a creamy texture with a rather thick consistency.

I am rather torn in between on  my review for this mask.

On 1 hand, I really want to love this mask.  It was a pleasure to use because you only need to leave it on your face for a few minutes.  On top of that, the Mango Magic mask smells absolutely HEAVENLY.  I was this |—| close to tasting it.  Maybe I should have.  The pleasant scent also made me feel super girlish & relaxed.

But on the other hand, I honestly do not feel that it did any wonders for me.  That left me feeling a tiny weeny disappointed.  First of all, the microscopic bubbles were really… … … microscopic (duh).  You cannot see it.  You cannot feel it bubbling on your face.  And therefore, you cannot feel that the product is working its magic.

The only way you can tell is when you first apply the mask on your face, you can see the cream.  Then after a few minutes, the cream seems to melt away & disappear.

My pores did not look cleaner.  My face did not look brighter.  If anything, it only made me crave for a huge piece of mango cake.

In addition to that, it gave me skin allergies as there were mosquito-like bumps around my mouth area, so I am kind of wondering what ingredients are in this product.

Perhaps if I had used it for a longer period of time, the product might show results.  But 1 month is all I am willing to give to a product.  If it doesn’t work in 1 month, then it is probably not worth my money.

Another thing is that all the ingredients are written in Korean, so you never know what kind of chemicals you’re putting on your face.

I also wonder how the oxygen bubbles are formed.  Does it form when it contacts with air???  Or the technology used to develop this mask is so advanced that the bubbles form when contact with human skin (but I doubt so)????

I’m asking this because if I do consider getting a full-size product, then how to I store it?  If bubbles form when it comes into contact with air, then each time I open the container that comes with a twist-open lid, I am actually introducing air into the container & microscopic bubbles will be foaming in the container instead of my face, right????

No Berry Mii stamp on the Mango Magic Brightening Mask because it only left me feeling frustrated & unsatisfied.

Leave a Reply

