Bioessence: Deep Exfoliating Gel with ATP

13 Aug


I’ve always had a problem with my dull complexion & freckles, so I tend to use some whitening products.

But then I found out that products show better results if you get rid of dead skin first!  I know, how silly of me, right.  After so many years, I was only enlightened now.

But then again!  I don’t like the feeling of using facial scrubs on my face becuz they can get very abrasive.  How?

I discovered the Bioessence Deep Exfoliating Gel with ATP when I was shopping for groceries in our local supermarket accompanying my parents while they were shopping for groceries in our local supermarket.  Who am I kidding.  I have never done grocery shopping in my life.

So anyway, I was walking around the skincare section & saw this highly decorated Bioessence counter.  Hey… what’s going on there?????  I strolled over & saw that they have this new product claiming to remove dead skin more effectively than any other products.  Plus it came with ATP which is supposed to promote cell renewal.

I am easily impressed by advertisements, so I bought one for myself & another one for mummy.

I always look at the ingredient list on a product.

As you can see, Ginseng Extract is listed as the 2nd ingredient on the list, so this means the product contains a high content of ginseng extract!  Then as you go further down the list, you can see things like Angelica Root Extract, Royal Jelly Powder, etc.  But it is the Organic Germanium that caught my eye & made me curious, mainly becuz of the word ORGANIC.  I love organic!  (actually, all of us at Berry Mii love organic stuff).

Based on Yahoo! research, Germanium has been proven to show results in tumor reduction, boosting the immune system & relieving rheumatoid arthritis.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME??????  Bioessence can put an ingredient like this in their product???  How… … considerate of them!  Although it has a 2nd last placement on the list, but it is still good to know that IT IS THERE.

Honestly, this product did not disappoint both mummy & me!!!

The ‘user manual’ tells you to apply an adequate amount on your face & massage in a soft circular motion until you feel bits of dirt come off your skin.

For me, I apply a thin layer of gel over my entire face & leave it on for a few minutes.  I was told before that by doing this, it will allow whatever nutrients in the product to be absorbed by my face first.  Hey, it makes sense!  But if you know that this has a negative effect instead, then you better tell me so I can go kill someone.

After 1 – 2 minutes, I start massaging in circular motion & I can see + feel all the dead skin coming off my face.  Some of the bits & pieces look more dirty grey than the others.  I have such a filthy face.

Here, I’m not going to take a photo with all that dirt on my face, but I have picked some dirt & placed in on my hand.  This will be a more pleasant photo.  Note that this is only some of the dirt, the rest were still on my face.

The dirt is so black, right?  Ugh.

I follow up with a cleanser, then slap on a mask or put a mask sheet over my face.  Without all that dead skin on my face, I feel that my face can better absorb more of the good stuff in the face mask!

I love this exfoliating gel becuz it really did get rid of my “mushrooms” (aka blackheads, don’t you think they look like mini black mushrooms growing on your nose & chin?).  Before I use the exfoliating gel, I look into the mirror & I can see mushrooms.  I trace my fingers over my nose & I can feel bumps from the mushroom heads.

After I use the gel, I can visibly see that the mushrooms are significantly lesser!!!  I wouldn’t be so exaggerated to say that they are COMPLETELY gone.  But it definitely got rid of most of the blackheads that were sticking out, so now my face is smoother!

I love this product because:

–      No itchiness or rashes developed + I don’t feel that my face has been dragged on the sand (which I sometimes feel that way when using facial scrubs with harsh grains in them).

–      Really does remove all sorts of dirt on your face.

–      Easy to use & fuss free!

–      ATP promotes cell renewal!  Who can deny this benefit!!!!

But then, I was also not turned on for several reasons:

–      Priced at SGD$29.90 a bottle seems a little too high & you can finish the whole bottle in 1 month (depending how often you use it).  It states that you can use it EVERYDAY, but I recommend that you use it on alternate days.

–      Although you don’t feel that your flesh is being sandpaper’ed by grains in facial scrubs, but somehow I feel that the gel makes my cheeks feel a bit tender after rubbing dead skin off.  Maybe becuz my cheeks were originally very dry.  But the way this product works, I can live with tender cheeks.

However, despite the high price, I would still give it a Berry Mii stamp of approval!!!  Simply because it works!!!

Have you tried the Bioessence:  Deep Exfoliating Gel with ATP?

Any other similar products from other brands that you can recommend?

14 Responses to “Bioessence: Deep Exfoliating Gel with ATP”

  1. Jessie Han 13 August 2010 at 9:35 AM #

    Hey! I’ve never noticed Bioessence. Am currently using a facial scrub and the grains do make my face feel like it has been rubbed by sandpaper! I might get that exfoliating gel. 🙂

  2. Gong 25 August 2010 at 12:09 PM #

    Hi Berry Mii, I was wondering if you have any other exfoliating stuff to review?? Saw from some websites that they have tony moly appletox but we don’t have this brand in sg. 😦 I think baviphat also has something like that but I can only get it in KL but I would like to hear your reviews on these products first! sorry for the long comment.

  3. crys 9 October 2010 at 8:02 PM #

    we do have tony moly in singapore now ah(: its at marina square(:

    • Berry Mii 20 October 2010 at 8:31 AM #

      tat is so great! i’m going to check that out soon. thanks, crys!

  4. Shirley 28 January 2011 at 2:56 PM #

    i tried Skin79 Crystal Peeling Gel and it works fabulously to remove my dead skin cells. It’s got starchy cellulose suspended in a gel base and you only need a small bit to rub on your face until the dead skin comes off. The only problem is that alcohol is the third ingredient so it can be irritating to sensitive skin. I loved it so much despite that I am risking my sensitive skin cos it took all this dead cells off so effectively.

    I am trying to find one without alcohol like the Cure Aqua Peeling Gel but it’s very pricey and not available in Canada. There is also the a Mangosteen one, I cannot recall the company but I figure the Mangosteen scent might be fake and I don’t know if it would be a scent I can tolerate.

    • Berry Mii 31 January 2011 at 12:37 PM #

      Hi Shirley!

      Oh yes, I’ve heard of Skin79. But the sad thing is, my skin has become very sensitive so I’m moving towards natural / organic skincare. I find that exfoliating is hardly necessary after I switched up my skincare products. Right now, I’m doing a manual exfoliation with just an organic cotton muslin cloth. It’s effective & cheap. LOL!

      I try to avoid ingredients like alcohol, parabens & artificial fragrances. They tend to irritated my ultra-sensitive skin. I have tried using organic fine brown sugar & mix it with my cleanser to create a scrub. It works too. Either that, or I’ll use moroccon Rhassoul Clay as an exfoliator. Super effective. LOL.

      • Shirley 31 January 2011 at 2:23 PM #

        I also make soap on the side and I was experimenting with red clay cos it was supposed to be gentler for dry skin. I was trying to make a peppermint clay soap for use after sports. It didn’t work out like I thought cos I put in too much clay and it reeked and the peppermint disappeared too. Plus the bars shrank so much after a few months!
        After the smell disappeared, I found it was still a really great bar of soap. It exfoliates and does not dry my skin. It turned out to be a really great soap and I use it on my face but I dont remember to do so all the time cos I have skin care that I need to use up. But it does make a difference to my skin on my body though. I see the stuff wash down the drain when I use it.

        I will try the idea about the muslin cloth and sugar scrub. I make my own skin care sometimes but it’s more fun to buy stuff too.

      • Berry Mii 7 February 2011 at 4:23 PM #

        you make your own soap???? Interesting! I’ve always wanted to try making one my own, but never brought myself to research on that yet. I would like to have a minty bar of soap to wake me up in the mornings! Currently using the Chagrin Valley ones. They don’t seem to work that well at first, but somehow, I grew to love some of their soap bars! So i went ahead to order a whole carton of soaps recently. LOL!!

  5. Shirley 8 February 2011 at 2:24 AM #

    Oh yeah, I looked at Chagrin Valley and they do have good stuff. I have an Etsy shop but I haven’t stocked it with soaps except the stuff I am clearing out for newer formulas. I will introduce the clay one at some point. I don’t want to make soap when I don’t feel
    creative. It is really fun to be able to decide what you want in a soap but then you end up with so many bars!

    I am interested in the Noni soap ingredients. From the looks of it, it’s a glycerin soap and alcohol is added to give it it’s translucent appearance. Unfortunately, it still remains in the soap even though high heat will burn off some of it. But if your skin is not reacting (must be the Noni) and getting dry then it should be fine to keep usiing.

    • Berry Mii 8 February 2011 at 12:09 PM #

      Hmmm… I should visit your shop some day… is it online?? I visited your blog site & found a link there, but when I click on it, it was a blank page. Maybe you can send me the link?

      Hey! Maybe you can make a soap for me… LOL… customized to my skin problems. that’ll be sweet!

      • Shirley 8 February 2011 at 3:23 PM #

        http://readthesubtext.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/soapy-adventures-wonderful/

        okay try this again.

        Sure I would love to customize a soap for you. That is what I want to specialize in because it has been frustrating trying to find stuff that fits the criteria I want.

        I would need about 4 weeks before it is ready and probably another two to ship by air or 8 weeks by sea. The smallest I can make is 1lb which is about 6 to 8 bars depending on how I cut it or I can leave it uncut for you to slice up. I don’t have a 1b mold so I use a milk carton. Not very elegant. My 2lb mold is more professional but that is a lot of soap!

        email me for more info.

      • Berry Mii 9 February 2011 at 12:21 PM #

        Hi Shirley, I have read this. You have done a lot of research in this! I’ll email you.

  6. annie 10 April 2011 at 9:13 AM #

    Hi there, I have recently finished my 1st tube of Bio Essence Deep Exfoliating Gel which I bought from Asia (I’m currently in the US) about a year ago. Looking to purchase another one online and your link was the top hit from the results. I did some researches and found that Ginvera Green Tea Marvel Gel could be a similar product just with a less expensive price tag. Have you ever heard of/used it? Thanks in advance.

    • Berry Mii 10 April 2011 at 11:04 AM #

      Hi Annie! Yes, I’ve heard of Ginvera Green Tea Marvel Gel. It works the same way as the Bioessence Deep Exfoliating Gel, but with different ingredients. I have never tried it before, but I would think there’s no harm trying it. =)

Leave a Reply

