Will Products Go Bad on Our Skins???

8 Feb

And I mean skincare products that are made from natural ingredients that do not use parabens.

I do see some products that say on their label, “to be used within 6 months of opening“.  Or keep in a “cool, dark place“.  This is to ensure that you use the products when it is at its freshest & before it starts to turn rancid or sprout a little mold (does it even bred mold? hmm).

Then I read this blog post by Vivawoman (link is HERE) & she blogged about Storage Tips for Sunscreen.  Good tips, by the way.

However, as I read her post, somehow my brain were extracting ideas & thoughts from all over the maps of my mind.  Finally, all the puzzles pieced together & came out as, “hmmm I wonder about the natural skincare products that we slap on our faces?  I’m sure not ALL of the products are absorbed into the skin.  Perhaps some residues are left behind on the surface on our skins.  So… … … in other words, that’s going to turn bad in a few hours, right???????

 

*HORRORS*

(O_O) !!!!!!!!!

So…………………………… seriously, the question is: would that skincare ‘residue’ turn bad???

I will not believe it if anyone told me that the products are going to get 100% absorbed into my skin.  Cannot be.  Surely there will be residue left behind.  Even if it’s a little bit.  And don’t tell me you don’t mind a LITTLE BIT OF MOLD.  Mold is still mold.  Rancid will still be rancid.  If you don’t mind, then it’s as good as saying “oh i touched a little bit of pee, but THAT’S OKAY.  It’s only A LITTLE BIT“…….. then proceeds to eat KFC original 2-piece chicken.

(-_-) <-- the look of despise.  you filthy little thing.

 

ANYWAY, back to the topic.

With those natural skincare products that we put on our faces, we then walk around (introduce air)… and we sweat (introduce water)… and then stroll under the sun (expose to heat).  Won’t that make the natural skincare turn bad even quicker than we keep it in the humid bathroom?

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME ANSWER THIS QUESTION???????????

I’M DYING FROM CURIOUSITY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmm… perhaps we apply an extremely thin layer & just massage/pat/slap our faces till it either gets absorbed by either our faces or it gets absorbed by our fingers.  hahaha… that is one method.

I might be just over-thinking this.  But it’s a thought, a possible thought.  hahahaa

Peace.

8 Responses to “Will Products Go Bad on Our Skins???”

  1. Shirley 8 February 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    Mold needs a certain environment to grow in like a damp enclosed area. It would be hard for the product on your face to become moldy. Because they are not the same conditions. But putting on a moldy product certainly can contribute to skin issues.

    The body can get fungi infections from a compromised immune system. They will show up in the damp areas of your body like feet and groin. Keeping the immune system strong with immune boosting supplements and a good diet and reduced stress (hardly possible but you have to try) will prevent fungal infections. They are very difficult to get rid of and can reoccur during times of stress or poor diet.

    • Berry Mii 9 February 2011 at 12:13 PM #

      Hi Shirley, thanks for setting my mind at ease (as Han Solo as said). I can get a little paranoid because of the cold sores that I’ve been getting since beginning of last year. But ever since I switched to natural skincare, it seems to be subsided in severity. I’m thankful for that! In the meantime, i’m taking lots of supplements!

  2. Han Solo 8 February 2011 at 6:37 PM #

    Hi Berry! Gd to see that you are still as imaginative as ever! It was so funny reading your posts. Now that you mentioned, it really does make a little sense, but I don’t think products can go rancid on our faces. can it??

    But I see Shirley above has put your mind at ease. haha!

    • Berry Mii 9 February 2011 at 12:10 PM #

      hahaha… han solo, yeah. you know me. I sometimes have no idea how my brain works.

      • Shirley 9 February 2011 at 3:57 PM #

        its okay, i am also neurotic about germs. i got a fungal infection once and it shows up when i eat too much sugar or eat mushrooms. i have to always watch my immune system so it does not come back.

        so if you use moldy products then you can add mold spores to your skin and it can grow from there. :(

        I have a small spoon that I clean before I use it to scoop creams out. i never dip my fingers in skincare product especially with the natural skincare.

      • Berry Mii 11 February 2011 at 8:49 AM #

        oh god yes, I hate germs. And on top of that, I have got an over-active imagination. LOL… sometimes i amaze myself by the thoughts that go thru my head. Yeah, I totally use a spatula to scoop creams out. And I never double-dip!

  3. EcoBeauty 10 February 2011 at 3:33 PM #

    LOL, this post made me laugh! Haha, Imagine little mushrooms growing on our faces. :p

    But anyway, just like Shirley said, no need to fret. I think she already explain why the scenario with molds would be almost impossible–and how your body can actually fight fungal infection off if you’re healthy enough. As for rancidity, even highly unstable oils like flaxseed will not go rancid on your skin and by the time it’s supposed to, you have either washed your face or the oil has been fully absorbed by your skin already. However, if the product already had molds or was rancid even before you applied it onto your skin….then that’s a different story.

    • Berry Mii 11 February 2011 at 8:52 AM #

      hehe… glad to entertain, Eco. I think about a lot of stuff, but most of them are too weird to put out in a blog. Me & my group of friends can imagine stuff all day. Now that my wild imagination has been put at ease, I have more time to think about what to do for my wedding. LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

